Dillman's Forum

Welcome to our forum. Feel free to post a message.

Dillman's Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Tillmann family

Hi guys,

My name is Clive Tillman and I live in Australia. I am new to family history, however I have been doing some research on my family tree and I have hit a brick wall in the Tillman line.

My great grandfather was Hugo Joseph Tillman (also Tillmann) and he was born in Germany in c 1874- 75. He migrated to the UK sometime before 1901 and married a local English woman in 1904. The only information I have on my great grandfather is from the 1901 and 1911 UK census records and his marriage certificate. In the 1901 census he lists his birthpalace as Koblenz Germany. On his marriage certificate he lists his father's name as "Joseph Tillman" and a man of "independent means". The only other information I have from the records is that my great grandfather Hugo Joseph Tillman was initially a painting dealer, then sometime between 1904 and 1906 he changed occupation to work as a wine merchant's manager. By the 1930s he appears to have been working as a real estate agent (I know this from my grandfather's marriage records).

I have tried to contact local repositories in Germany for information on Hugo Joseph Tillman and Joseph Tillman, but all to no luck. I have, however, done some research through Familysearch and I am now starting to get a suspicion that the original spelling of the name could have been "Dillmann" because there was a Hugo Mat Dillmann baptised in Koblenz in 1874 with a father "Joseph Dillmann". How common would it be by the late 1800s to shift between "Dillmann" and "Tillmann". What tips could you guys give me for finding out my origins?

Name You Are Researching Tillmann Dillmann Tillman Dillman

Re: Tillmann family

Hi Clive,

Thanks very much for your post.